Golfevents-PGAThe PGA Championship was established in 1916 by a department store owner by then name of Rodman Wanamaker. In order for Wanamaker to make his idea work he had to have golfers involved of course. So, he invited some of the best golfers at that time and other leading industry representatives to have lunch where they discussed and formed the PGA of America. Seven short months later, the first PGA Championship was played at Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville, New York. The prize fund included $2,500, and multiple medals and trophies. Wanamaker wanted the PGA Championship to be organized similar to the British News of the World Tournament. The trophy the champion receives today is called the Wanamaker Trophy that only 63 individuals have had the pleasure of winning.

Like the British Open golf championship, the PGA Championship was also put on hold for two years during World War I but resumed in 1919. The PGA was played as a 36-hole elimination match-play tournament unlike the British Open and U.S. Open which were played as 72 holes. Into the 1920’s there were three players who won over a nine year period: Walter Hagen, Gene Sarazen and Leo Diegel.

Since 1994, this championship has had the most players listed in the top 100 of the official world golf rankings participate. In 2002, the PGA Championship established an all-time record of world-ranked participants with having 98 of the 100 players. This PGA took place at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minnisota. In 1999 at the age of 23 Tiger Woods became the fifth youngest PGA Championship winner.

Now in 2012 The PGA Championship celebrated its 94th edition.

PGA Championship
PGA Tour

Image source: